See Your Faith Grow

George 6 weeksWhen a puppy is born it is both deaf and blind.  It can’t regulate its own body temperature or support its own weight – but by end of week the eyes open and hearing begins to develop.  Legs get stronger and as the weeks unfold the dog takes its first puppy steps into the world that surrounds him or her!

Equally we celebrate or draw attention to the development of our offspring, whether that’s getting their first teeth or the ability to walk, talk or use the potty (oh what a joyous day that was) and so on.  Through school and into adulthood, we continue to celebrate important milestones.

Celebrating the Occassionmarriage-918864_960_720

In our journey with God there are milestones we should celebrate. I recently celebrated 25 years of being a Christian. On one level this might seem cheesy, but for anyone journeying with God it is no mean feat, especially in a context of spiritual and religious plurality and
apathy

When I attended a commissioning service for those who had, in faith, taken new steps towards what God was calling them to become, something struck me.

I sat near the back of the church and watched as men and women of God shared their testimony of what has happened in their lives, both ups and downs, to bring them to this point.  People shared heartfelt words, poetry and music – each trying to encapsulate and frame their experience of God at work in their lives.

I sat there as a seasoned Christian and church leader… well reasonably so, looking past thoughts of how something might have been said better or how no-one used the microphone,  and what I saw was inspiring.

Looking back at what God has done.

Beach

Those who spoke reminded me of my own walk with God, the call into ministry that seems a dot in comparison to all that has happened since. The nervousness of getting up in front of people and not being polished or ‘off the cuff’, but bound to my script like a security blanket. Of not having confidence in the abilities God had given me and always wondering if I was doing any good at all. Some of those feelings haven’t left me, which is probably for the best.

More than my own journey, their words and the service reminded me that God is always calling people to new ministries, to new things.  I remember one of my first tutorials as I became a student minister began something like this:Tutor: “So what grades did you get at A-level?”

Me: “None!”
Tutor(surprised): “You didn’t get any qualifications and here you universityare in one of the top universities in the UK?” He asked to clarify.

There was no judgement in his voice, just that joyous surprise and laughter between two Christians, at what God can do when someone says ‘Yes’ to Him. How, even though I didn’t have the grades for university, the obstacles were not insurmountable.  After all, nothing is impossible for God. I went on to gain a BA in Theology and Ministry,
achieving a 2:1.

saying yes to GodThe people at the commissioning service had all said ‘Yes’ to God; it was truly wonderful to hear how far they had come and it is exciting to think of where they might end up.

 

Many years ago someone told me she had a word from the Lord (it was actually more than one), and it is in the image below. It is a phrase that has sustained, changed and recurred across my walk with God. I offer them to you.

trust-in-the-lord-robert-hamm

