Those 3 Words, Valentines 2015

Words have such power, the power to stir us, convict us, leave us breathless or crush our spirit. I wonder with Valentine’s Day fast approaching, what language might we use to convey our deepest feelings to that special person. Will it simply be I love you, perhaps we will seek some inspiration perhaps using some words taken from the movie When Harry Met Sally.

Harry and Sally are at the New Year’s Eve party and Harry declares to Sally ”I love that you get cold when it’s 71 degrees out. I love that it takes you an hour and a half to order a sandwich. I love that you get a little crinkle above your nose when you’re looking at me like I’m nuts. I love that after I spend the day with you, I can still smell your perfume on my clothes. And I love that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep at night.” 

Alternatively perhaps you might find inspiration from the movie Pride and Prejudice  and declare to your loved one that they “have bewitched my body mind and soul.” For some of us we might be too shy to say what we really mean. However to not risk losing the one, sometimes we must risk everything.

So how will my words convey how I feel about my wife alongside the material and less important gestures. What words will I pick from the English-language to describe the sweetness of my love for her. Indeed what will her words be to me? How will they move me. How will they build me up, and take our relationship further. For our words have such power within them. Far more than a nuclear explosion, or an act of terrorism.

The Bible reminds me that’s my words are important, and valuable. Misunderstandings can lead to conflict, aggressive language can leave people broken, shattered and without hope. However as we celebrate this day of love, however we might feel about how commercial it has become. The challenge remains for us all to find the right words, the right way to say the right thing at the right moment.

I have always expressed my love in big gestures. As a teenager it was the classic mixed tape that I spent hours over, as I grew up it was meals out or Jewellery. Once for my wife I hired a limousine to take us 15 minutes down the road to the restaurant Frankie and Benny’s! On another occasion I whisked her away to Amsterdam for a weekend, having hidden our suitcase in the car and remembered the passports. I’m not always good at saying the words. But for my wife she needs to hear the words, the words for her hold more meaning and power then the amount of money I spend or how extravagant my gift might be.

So however you spend Valentine’s Day and with whom, let them know with words how special they are. Words that will stay with them long after the chocolates been devoured and the flowers have wilted.

God Bless and Happy Valentine’s Day, do leave a comment and tell us how it went. So we can all celebrate your success or indeed commiserate with you. Finally part two of this post comes next week!

