God, I’m Thirsty!

Unknown-1The tweet read ‘without the Holy Spirit, my faith is as dry as a parched throat.’ The Tweet and shared and perhaps caught someone’s imagination or drew a question into their heart.

The question might have been how thirsty am I for more of God? The kind of thirst that many men and women of scripture recognised within themselves, as they encountered Christ and realised they needed his gift.

Just recently I have been getting back into the gym, and as part of that, you get a consultation with an instructor. He reminded me that one of the changes I need to make to be more healthy was to drink water, and that your body needs water more than the highly calorific but lovely tasting lattes I keep drinking! It seems at some level, that I have been ignoring my bodies basic need for water, I am meant to drink at least two litres apparently, every day!

I see this lack of meeting one basic need can be mirrored in our spiritual life. For example, to-do lists, church meetings, vision sessions all in the name of building Gods Kingdom, can act like lattes offering some thirst relief, but are no substitute for the real thirst quenching living water, or in other words receiving Christ’s gift.

Maybe there is a reason we are substituting our need of living water, perhaps the reasons are painful, or mean we need to make some life changes, perhaps letting go of our managed and manicured church lives, or perhaps just making time for Christ’s gift.

A gift that isn’t neat or tidy, doesn’t come with a bow or nice wrapping paper. However the gift connects you with God and enhances and produces character traits, that don’t wrinkle or perish, and are of the kind that cost nothing but are priceless, ancient, eternal.

These being love for all, joy in life, peace that centres you, patience that keeps looking, along with hope for the best in others, which flows out in actions that are good and kind. Lastly and so important of course there is self-control, that controls the tongue from demeaning others.

Let us metaphorically drink of Christ’s gift, like a tall glass of crystal clear water on a hot summers day, that doesn’t just quench your thirst but you are aware of its coolness as the liquid spreads out in your body changing your temperature, and mood.

Christ’s gift underpins all I do, I am still like all of us all a work in progress, but I find that progress is made better with His gift than without.

Lord God, may I know the renewing power of your gift of the holy spirit, may I be remade in your likeness. Amen

Find us on Facebook @godlifechurch

