Slave (to the schedule)

Help me, I am bound, shackled to a monster, who tirelessly whips me with the corse edges of dates, the barbs of endless entries in my schedule, it mocks me and tries to shred my professional veneer. Even Siri (the voice of my schedule and Apples automated personal assistant) joins in with its chirpy voice:

“You have 15 appointments today.”

Then adds, as if to pour heated coals on my head.

“That’s a lot”!!

The bible tells me I am free, that I am only a slave to christ, in whom I find rest, contentment and purpose.

Therefore, I have a dream, that the diary will no longer shackle and define me, that we will know what it is to be liberated when we have taken back control and tamed the beast the diary can become. That there will be a partnership between humankind and our diaries. That isn’t about who has the power so much, but how life is managed and enriched, that the joys as well as work commitments can intermingle in harmony on its pages and in our hearts.

I have a dream that my kids won’t complain when daddy’s got another meeting or working late, or is two busy to play or too stressed to be able to. But instead he and the diary together maximise those precious moments with my young children and family, moments that matter more to them than I can imagine.

I have a dream that within the relentless schedule of life, mapped out in the diary, that there becomes room for spontaneity, where there is the discovery of the still small voice of God, or the awe moment when a view takes you buy surprise or simply the spontaneity  of kissing the one you love firmly on the lips.

My previous post retreat is not surrender struck a nerve with lots of people, so I thought to encourage you, that we do not need to be slaves to the schedule, as hard as that might be. As I said to a church member on sunday, sometimes taking a break in the schedule to make things calm down can take a few weeks to be implemented. Taking a break can’t always be achieved straight away.

Five years ago when I became a minister, in the Methodist church, I promised myself that I wouldn’t be like those ‘other ministers’ who run around all day and hear the fateful words from congregations “I know your busy but…?”. This naive notion didn’t last long. The schedule is a battle ground, to win space, achieve time with family, times for spiritual nourishment and more besides. I believe that the battle can be won, because frankly the cost of losing the war is too high. What is the cost? Well, that maybe different for you and I, for me largely, it’s loosing touch with family, what my kids are up to, not knowing the funny story or sad moment I didn’t have time to hear.

So go with God. Win those battles, find that harmony, you and I are and need not be slaves, but free people.

breaking-the-chains-10

4 Comments

  1. I say get the schedule to work for YOU! Schedule in time with your family and chill time. As you stick the work parts, so you stick to the other parts.
    You know sometimes you have to cheat and schedule spontaneity! 😉

    Like

  2. Andy says:

    Thanks for that so true, it can sometimes feel that the schedule is dictating terms! Thanks for your comment will implement the suggestions. Have a good day.

    Like

  3. Pingback: God They’re Just Not In To You. I tried sorry! | GodLifeChurch

Comments are closed.

