Next Avenger Movie Rated PG

ImageMy son and many 8 year olds the world over, would want the title of this post to be true. However sadly for them, Disney & Marvel are only producing Thor and Avenger themed movies in a certain way, that means their certification is not going to be  less than PG12A or similar. However this has not put us off.

A recurring conversation we have with our son is:

J:”Can I watch the avengers (or similar) movie pleaseeee?”

Us: “Sorry we are afraid you’re too young.”

He is understandably frustrated at our consistent answer and we totally sympathise with him, and like him wish that Marvel would produce a movie for younger viewers

My wife and I are of the view, that the age limit on these movies is there for a reason, and so he doesn’t get to watch them at home. It is easy to understand why he is annoyed that he cannot watch these frankly awesome movies. (Poor kid)

So I suggested as a way of alleviating the situation, that we write to the CEOs of Disney and Marvel (Marvel is owned by Disney) and ask them, if they could create movies that were for his age demographic as well as those 12+.

After much browsing I discovered that the only way to reach them was by post. So the two of us wrote a letter together, I made editorial suggestions but it’s his work. The letter was placed in the envelope and appropriate stamps stuck. So off the letter went to the United States of America, too the offices of Disney and Marvel. We are both excited at what might happen. My imagination running away with me, as I imagined and all expenses flight to look around the studios!

Nearly three weeks have now passed we haven’t as yet heard anything. Now there could be a hundred reasons why they have not responded as yet, perhaps the letter has been delayed. But feel on my sons behalf I should put our letter out there, just incase either  Mr Feige  or Mr Iger, might get wind of the letter in another way and perhaps in my sons wildest dreams answer his question.

21st Feb 2014

Dear Mr Feige and Mr Robert A. Iger,

With the help of my dad, I am writing to let you know how much I and my friends love the Avengers characters, my favourite is Thor, I include a picture I drew, I like him because he is clever and brave. Whilst I have watched the cartoons and enjoy them, I do feel very annoyed that I cannot watch the movie versions as I am only 8 years old.

Whilst I can play with avengers themed figures, costumes and even enjoy an avenger themed birthday party. I am frustrated that the movies are all too old for me to watch. Could you not produce a movie for my age range? As I would definitely get my mum and dad to buy a ticket to see that movie with all my friends.

We would both appreciate a response either by post or email, we look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely.

If you feel moved, do share this post. That perhaps the outcome of my sons question, might end in a simple gesture which would blow my sons mind.  Of course you never know perhaps they are creating a movie for that age range after all. Making thousands of kids happy around the globe.

I will let you know if we get a reply. Also I wonder what your view is of movie age ratings. In particular whether perhaps you like us, think there should be a movie for Marvel’s younger Fans. Please let your opinion count below in on the online poll, you can only vote once.

Have a great day.

