When life interrupts!

There are moments, in life which define and shape. Like a birth or death, a win on the lottery, an appearance in court, a profession of adoration or distain, the birth of a child. Alongside this their are also societal moments that shape, the death of Elvis (for some), the London or American terrorist bombings, seeing the tanks and soldiers invade your neighbourhood and fearing for your country.

How we face these issues, has far reaching consequences. One reaction is to run and hide, to fear what is coming, to negate responsibility. The other extreme is to aggressively be in the face of the issue, to control it bend it to your will. There are of course lots of shades of grey in between.

It really matters how we react to those moments and there is not one answer for each opportunity. For me, I try to remember to breath, to take a moment or even two moments strung together before during and after, to think and pray and then take action. In that action, I hope God goes with me, that in the decision I make, there is grace enough and a willingness in my heart to acknowledge if I mess it up. But also enough humility, to not hold my triumphs people when I overcome or am successful.

I believe that in the life changing moment God want to speak to us, maybe not to rescue us in obvious ways, but to walk with us speaking to us about and through the situation that we might learn from it, draw wisdom, peace, maturity and ultimately freedom. A freedom and grace that only Christ can offer.

Go in peace

