Running Man

Back in late June I started running again. I haven’t run for 11 years where I picked up an injury in my foot, but even then I didn’t run regularly, but a few months ago after reading about how proper running shoes can make a difference, I decided to give it a go. I didn’t post before because I wanted to make sure it was something I would stick to.

Point one,

Why was I going to start again? Well to loose weight and get fit again, I have been carrying around extra luggage for too long and as I reach my 39th year in December, it was time to get serious and do something rather than just talk about weight loss.

IMG_0740

Point 2 get some decent running shoes
Because of my injury I had always believed I couldn’t run, until I got an expensive pair of New Balance running shoes with special inner soles designed for my feet, I mention that they weren’t cheap, not to boast, but to say it was worth the expense.

My runtastic app tells me that I have have completed 26 activities since beginning in late june and have run 62 miles! That old injury hasn’t once given be any grief. I went to The Sweatshop an unfortunate name but awesome and really know their stuff and I haven’t looked back.

Point 3 starting running. In my head I can run miles and miles at a good pace, the reality is very different, so be honest, recognise your excuses at not starting as excuses and buy some gear and get going. One of my excuses was I was worried I would look silly! And maybe I do, but I have now lost a stone in weight and am achieving my goals, and this makes me happy.

How do I do this? Baby steps, low expectations, starting slow and realising their will be ups and downs. Gradually increase your distance, speed and time, transitioning from walking to jogging. There is a section on the app I use which is for interval which tells me the mph of slow steady and fast, I ignore this as I am still considered slow! Instead I do custom intervals which have made me quicker, again not over doing it. There is nothing more demoralising of constantly having to stop because you think your lungs are going to burst.

Point 4- Schedule
Whatever you decide enjoy it. I run three times a week for about 25-30mins as my schedule allows, and sometimes I listen to music but more recently, I just enjoy the silence, and rhythmic sound of my trainers make against the tarmac, only interrupted by my app telling me occasionally what my pace is, and how long I have been running.

My Routine

Monday is normally, a longer run of 30 mins at a slow pace currently 12min mile I started at 14 min mile! I sometimes have to stop once but that is something I am working on at the moment, my wall is at 17 mins and so as I near that time, I mentally prepare myself to overcome it. Mostly that works! Except when I am running with the dog!

Wednesday is intervals I started 2 mins walk/jog 30sec run and am now at 1min jog 2 min run, I love intervals especially as it is making me faster.

Friday is race day, there is an option on my app (runtastic) which is called a ghost run, where I run against myself! So I pick the best run of the week and run against it, it’s good to know I always come first and second! Today I came second, I blame the dog for holding me up to sniff, interesting (to him) blades of grass!

Before and after each workout i stretch for around 5 mins and also include some weight training, there is tons of advice out there on what you can do in terms of warm up and cool down, but basically stretch out your legs and body  helps to ward off injury and pulled muscles, so don’t skimp on it.

I am not sure if I will ever run a proper race, partly because there is enough pressure in my life and also I am worried I will come last. I run yes because of my weight loss goals, but I have grown to love it, each week I know I will have 3 opportunities to run in all weathers, enjoying the silence and the melodic thump thump of my trainers hitting the Tarmac. Knowing I am achieving something, getting healthier and fitter.

My favourite run recently was on holiday, we went to see family in Sheringham and I got to run down by the beach in the morning, several times it was really inspiring, so if you live near a beach or beautiful countryside use what as inspiration.

IMG_0738IMG_0736

 

When researching running, I found this website very helpful http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/ and also YouTube when thinking about technique. Sports Direct which always has sales was where I bought a good pair of shorts and running top with a zip pocket for house keys, as well as a rain jacket, and finally amazon for an iPhone armband holder.

I wish you well. Hope you love running as much as I do.

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Weight Loss | GodLifeChurch

  2. Andy Chislett-McDonald says:

    Andy, just two comments…well done and…warm up a little and very gently before stretching! Muscle that are not warmed up tend to pull when stretched!

    Like

Comments are closed.

